Board certification and continuing certification are important parts of professional self-regulation and professional identity. In a transparent and open process, the Vision Initiative is designed to assess the current state of continuing board certification and envision its framework for the future.

Goals of the Vision Initiative

The Vision Initiative will foster an inclusive, open, collaborative and candid dialogue across stakeholder groups, to:

  • Consider a range of principles, frameworks and program models for continuing board certification
  • Be responsive to the needs of those who rely on the credential: patients, hospitals, and medical practices
  • Be relevant, meaningful and of value to physicians
  • Create meaningful recommendations for the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) Boards community

Foundational Assumptions

The organizations and participants in the process are committed to:

  • Professional self-regulation as both privilege and responsibility
  • The role of continuing board certification as part of the professional self-regulatory system

Nominate Candidates

The Planning Committee

The Planning Committee is comprised of representatives from the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), Coalition for Physician Accountability, Council of Medical Specialty Societies (CMSS), Council on Medical Education (CME) of the American Medical Association (AMA), the public, and the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS).

Jo Buyske, MD, ABMS/ABS
Sandra Carson, MD, CMSS/ACOG
Joyce Dubow, Public Member
Jack Evans, Public Member
Larry Green, MD, ABMS/ABFM
Thomas Hess, JD, ABMS
Lynne Kirk, MD, AMA CME

Graham McMahon, MD, ACCME
Thomas Nasca, MD, ACGME
John Prescott, MD, AAMC & Coalition
Stephen Wasserman, MD, ABMS/ABAI
Steven Weinberger, MD, CMSS/ACP
Norman B. Kahn, Jr., MD, CMSS, ex-officio
Lois Margaret Nora, MD, ABMS, ex-officio