Vision Initiative logo

May 30–June 1 Agenda: Vision for the Future Commission Meeting

May 23, 2018

[Updated 5/30/18] The Commission is pleased to announce the agenda and access information for the public sessions of the May 30 – June 1, 2018 meeting.

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Hours listed are Mountain Time

Dial-In No: (855) 797-9480
For Wednesday afternoon only: CLICK HERE to join
Access Code: 808 579 359#

12:30 pm – 1:30 pm MT
Comments from Member Boards:
American Board of Dermatology
American Board of Family Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine
American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology

Lela Lee, MD, Associate Executive Director, ABD
James Puffer, MD, President and CEO, ABFM
Richard Baron, MD, President and CEO, ABIM
Larry Faulkner, MD, President and CEO, ABPN

1:30 pm – 2:30 pm
Relationship between Member Boards and Specialty Societies

George Wendel, MD and Hal Lawrence, MD
American Board of Obstetrics & Gynecology and American College of Obstetrics & Gynecology

Carolyn Kinney, MD and Thomas Stautzenbach, MA, MBA
American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Larry Faulkner, MD, Tristan Gorrindo, MD and Catherine Rydell
American Board of Psychiatry & Neurology, American Psychiatric Association, and the American Academy of Neurology

2:30 pm – 2:45 pm

2:45 pm – 3:45 pm
Comments from ABMS Board of Directors Leadership

John C. Moorhead, MD, Chair
Barry S. Smith, MD, Chair-Elect
Larry Green, MD, Incoming Chair-Elect

3:45 pm – 5:00 pm
Discussion about International Models of Physician Certification

John Norcini, PhD
President and CEO, Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research (FAIMER)

Craig Campbell, MD
Principal Senior Advisor, Competency-based Continuing Professional Development, Office of Specialty Education
Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada

Mira Irons, MD
Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs, ABMS
Conclusion of the open session for the day

Thursday May 31, 2018

Hours listed are Mountain Time

Dial-In No: (855) 797-9480
For Thursday morning only: CLICK HERE to join
Access Code: 803 950 692#

The Commission meeting between 8:00 am and 12:00 pm MT will be open and video streamed for viewing.

8:00 am – 8:45 am MT
Comments from State Medical Associations
California Medical Association
Medical Association of Georgia

Ted Mazer, MD
Donald Palmisano, Jr., JD

8:45 am – 9:00 am

9:00 am – 10:15 am
Comments from Physicians

Kim Feldhaus, MD (Emergency Medicine)
John Pickrell, MD (Cardiology)
Stephen Dreskin, MD (Allergy & Immunology)
Paul Mathew, MD (Neurology and NBPAS Board Member)

10:15 am – 10:45 am
Comments from AOA

Adrienne White-Faines, MPA
CEO, American Osteopathic Association

10:45 am – 11:00 am

11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Comments from Portfolio Program Sponsors
Todd Dorman, MD, Johns Hopkins
Alwin Steinmann, MD, St. Joseph Hospital
Mary Ales, Interstate Postgraduate Medical Association
Joel Tieder, MD, Seattle Children’s Hospital

The Commission meeting between 2:00 pm and 4:00 pm MT will be open and video streamed for viewing.

Dial-In No: (855) 797-9480
For Thursday afternoon only: CLICK HERE to join
Access Code: 804 692 694#

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm MT
Comments from the Hospitals and Health Systems

Joan Bissen
HealthPartners Institute

Ethan Cumbler, MD, FACP, FHM
University of Colorado Hospital and School of Medicine

Sharisse Arnold Rehring, MD, FAAP
Colorado Permanente Medical Group
University of Colorado School of Medicine

3:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Comments from Credentialers

Diane M. Meldi, MBA, CPCS, CPMSM
Mercy Quality and Safety Center

Linda Waldorf, BS, CPMSM, CPCS
University of North Carolina Health Care System

Carol S. Cairns, CPMSM, CPCS, PRO-CON
The Greeley Company, Inc.

Christine “Cris” Mobley, CPMSM, CPCS
Edge-U-Cate, LLC
C Mobley & Associates, LLC