Commission Appointed, Survey Launched

February 15, 2018

At our most recent, and the final, meeting of the Planning Committee in January, the 176 submitted nominations for Commission membership were reviewed. The Planning Committee formally announced the members of the Continuing Board Certification: Vision for the Future (Commission) on Monday, Feb. 5. The following individuals will serve on the Commission:

  • Roxie M. Albrecht, MD, FACS, FCCM
  • Jann T. Balmer, RN, PhD
  • Carol D. Berkowitz, MD, FAAP, FACEP
  • Haywood L. Brown, MD
  • Craig M. Campbell, MD, FRCPC (Ex Officio)
  • Davoren Chick, MD, FACP
  • Carol Cronin, MSG, MSW
  • Charles Cutler, MD, MACP
  • Patricia (Patti) Davis
  • Claudia M. Espinosa, MD, MSC, FAAP
  • Geoffrey M. Fleming, MD
  • Nitika A. Gupta, MBBS, DCH, DNB, MRCPCH
  • Ole-Petter R. Hamnvik, MBBCh, BAO, MMSc
  • Elspeth J. R. Hill, MD, PhD
  • Ronald B. Hirschl, MD
  • Paul E. Johnson, MD, FACS
  • Bruce A. Leff, MD
  • Colonel Michael R. Nelson, MD, PhD
  • Donald J. Palmisano Jr., JD
  • Earl J. Reisdorff, MD
  • Andrea M. Russo, MD, FACC, FHRS
  • Catherine M. Rydell, CAE
  • Thomas L. Schwenk, MD
  • David A. Swankin, JD
  • George D. Wendel Jr., MD

The Commission members represent a broad cross-section of physicians from a wide variety of specialties and practice settings and a diverse group of stakeholder communities, including national specialty and state medical societies, hospitals and health systems, health care organizations, and the general public.

The Commission will be co-chaired by Christopher Colenda, MD, MPH, and William Scanlon, PhD. Biographical information on each Commission member as well as the co-chairs is available here.

The Commission will begin its work with a comprehensive assessment of the current continuing board certification system. Feedback will be obtained from various stakeholders through multiple methods beginning with a survey that is now open and available for comment. We encourage you to complete the survey and share it, and this update, with your colleagues for them to participate as well. We also welcome your general comments and feedback.

Take the Survey

The first phase of the Vision Initiative and the work of the Planning Committee have been completed. As we conclude our work, we want to recognize and thank our colleague members of the Planning Committee for their dedication to the Vision Initiative and commitment to improving continuing board certification. We look forward to following the Commission’s progress and have appreciated the opportunity to help establish the framework for the Vision Initiative and the future of continuing board certification.


Norman B. Kahn Jr., MD and Lois Margaret Nora, MD, JD, MBA

Download as PDF